​​​​March 24, 2020


Ralph Romano Gym

6:00 pm Girls Game

7:30 pm Boys Game

​​​2020 ROSTERS ​

Invited Black

Playing Red

Players invited but unable to attend are not listed on these rosters.


Ava Hill             Mesabi East
Bella Lourey-Bowen   East Central
Gianna Kneepkens     Duluth Marshall
Grace Kirk           Duluth Marshall
Kaelynn Kudis        Cherry
Kourtney Manning     Hibbing

​Kristy DeMuth        Esko
Sam Pogatchnik       Proctor
Shaily Hakamaki      Cromwell-Wright​

Taya Hakamaki        Cromwell-Wright


Dylan DeChampeau     Greenway
Dylan Hom            Proctor
Jayden Bernard       Virginia
John Sutherland      Grand Rapids
Josh Reinertsen      Duluth Denfeld
Micah Pocernich      Cromwell-Wright
Noah Paulson         Duluth East 
Payton Wefel         Esko
Samuel Lohn          Duluth Marshall
Trevor Morrison      North Woods


Brooke Quimby        Grantsburg
Brooke Ogren         Northwestern
Madison Zimmer       Clear Lake

​Hailey Voelker       Colby
Julianna  Rosen      Clear Lake

Kameri Meredith      Colfax

Kenedy Van Zile      Rhinelander

Kylli Rajala         Solon Springs

Rachel Scharlau      Colfax
Sydney Brennan       E. C. Memorial


Aaron Pfister          Solon Springs       

Andrew Klobucher       Northwestern
Ashton Kallstrom       Eau C. North

Douglas Hipsher        South Shore

Gage Johansen       Luck
Joey Barker         Superior
Kyle Bilodeau   Chetek-Weyerhaeuser
Kyle Sapper         Ashland

​Matthew Marcinske      Birchwood

​Peyton Rogers          Ladysmith

2019 Border Battle Players on College Sport Rosters *

Player                  High School          College                 Olivia Lane             Pequot Lakes         North Dakota  

Cade Goggleye           Northwoods           CSS
Shayna Loiland          Crosby-Ironton       Weber State    

Connor Bich             Hermantown           Dakota Wesleyan
Hannah DeMars           Grand Rapids         Jamestown U            Camden Berger           Esko                 Fond du lac Tribal      Shawna Mell             Rush City            Concordia St. Paul       Jace Hansen-Cochran     Greenway             CSS
Alexandra Negen         Mt. Iron-Buhl        North Iowa Area CC        Jon Stimmler            Princeton            St. Johns
Allie Wojtysiak         Cloquet              Viterbo U.              James Flicek(football)  Princeton            U-W River Falls

Julia Manor             Northwood            CSS         

Hunter Philllips        Northwood            St. Mary’s U
Alison Leslie           Clayton              Ripon                  
Mason Ackley            Superior             U-W Superior
Chloe Kintop            Superior             Augsburg              
Alexander Schmidt       Mercer               Northland
Jessica Massey          Eau Claire Memorial  Saginaw Valley St.    
Xavier Patterson        Superior             U-W Superior
Kailey Ketz             Clayton              U-W Whitewater        
Jordan Brennan          Ashland              Northland
Bailey Reardon          River Falls          William Penn           
Payton Buckley(football)Rice Lake            St. Cloud St.

George Scharlau         Colfax               Concordia St. Paul

Tyler Robarge           Chippewa Falls       Michigan Tech

*This list is as accurate as could be determined from college web pages.   Players could have changed their mind and players could have been missed.

Mike Gerber MVP of the 2019 girl's game, Olivia Lane (Pequot Lakes), with DAYBA Board Chair Jim Wallner and Intern President/CEO of St. Luke's Hospital, Eric Lohn.

Mike Gerber MVP of the 2019 boy's game, Mason Ackley (Superior), with  DAYBA Board Chair Jim Wallner and Intern President/CEO of St. Luke's Hospital, Eric Lohn.

      View the 2019 Border Battle program    Border Battle Program 2019 

View the 2020 Border Battle program  

2020 Program pdf      

Border Battle Program 2020

Border Battle 2020 has been canceled.

Border Battle Players, Parents & Fans,

We are sad to say we have canceled the 2020 Border Battle. We did not take this decision lightly but the safety of players, parents, fans, and everyone involved is paramount. It is a highlight of our year and hopefully a highlight for the players.

"Border BattlE" 
​sponsored by ST Luke's orthopedics & Sports medicine

Each spring, DAYBA produces the "Border Battle" All-Star Game Sponsored by St. Luke's Orthopedics, pitting elite players from Northeastern Minnesota vs. players from North Central Wisconsin.  This is the premiere all-star game in the Northland! 

At the 2019 event, we picked a Mike Gerber MVP award winner for both the girl's game and the boy's game.  Each MVP — Olivia Lane of Pequot Lakes; and Mason Ackley of Superior — received an engraved bronze basketball. ​​

Border Battle Photos available

Dave Harwig  




2009: Wisconsin 103, Minnesota 102, OT (At UWS; attendance 1,000)

2010: Wisconsin 115, Minnesota 88 (At UMD; attendance 850)

2011: Wisconsin 93, Minnesota 72 (At UMD; attendance 850)

2012: Minnesota 135, Wisconsin 75 (At UMD; attendance 1,200)

2013: Wisconsin 98, Minnesota 83 (At UMD; attendance 1,100)

2014: Minnesota 120, Wisconsin 115, 2OT (At UMD; attendance 1,200)

2015: Minnesota 110, Wisconsin 100 (At UMD; attendance 1,200)

2016: Wisconsin 106, Minnesota 101 (At UMD; attendance 1,100)

2017: Minnesota 104, Wisconsin 95   (At UM;, attendance 800)

2018: Minnesota 96, Wisconsin 88  (At UWS; attendance 850)

2019: Wisconsin 131, Minnesota 84 (At UMD; attendance 800)

2020: Game canceled

Overall: Wisconsin 6-5; Minnesota 5-6

Highest single-game scorer: Bjorn Broman (Lakeview Christian Academy, Duluth, MN; 2015) 31 points


2009: Wisconsin 105, Minnesota 62 (At UWS; attendance 1,000)

2010: Wisconsin 80, Minnesota 72 (At UMD, attendance 850)

2011: Wisconsin 94, Minnesota 88 (At UMD; attendance 850)

2012: Wisconsin 85, Minnesota 69 (At UMD; attendance 1,200)

2013: Minnesota 65, Wisconsin 61 (At UMD; attendance 1,000)

2014: Wisconsin 78, Minnesota 76, OT (At UMD; attendance 900)

2015: Wisconsin 94, Minnesota 70 (At UMD; attendance 1,100)

2016: Wisconsin 78, Minnesota 70 (At UMD; attendance 1,200)

2017: Wisconsin 75, Minnesota 73  (At UMD; attendance 800)

2018: Wisconsin 73, Minnesota 64  (At UW;, attendance 850)

​2019: Minnesota 95, Wisconsin 56 (At UMD; attendance 800)

2020: Game Canceled

Overall: Wisconsin 9-2; Minnesota 2-9

Highest single-game scorer: Heather Bowe (Eau Claire Regis, 2012): 29 points